Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I think it has been two years now since my husband and I, on a whim, ascended Sharp Top mountain.  It was a warm day and the trail was a buzz with a variance in degree and styles of  hikers; old, young, the seriously equipped and experienced, day trekkers and meanderers.  I’m not sure where in this mix I would place us; unequipped, determined, sacrificing our guts for the glory but in full reality of our shortcomings. 

You know how it is on these types of journeys. There is a sympathetic camaraderie with the like paced.  At each turn, we wish the crest closer.  Depending on how experiencable the hiker, any inquiry to timeframe in finishing our quest was met with answers from “It’s a long way yet” to “Just up a little ways”.   It was at about our fifth breath gasping deliberation that we turned back.  However, we did not turn away without a promise to return.  Some day.

Well, it has been too long, dear Sharp Top.  This is the year.  Our two oldest sons and few friends just tackled this mountain over the weekend despite the snow that caused unsure footing.  My oldest, had never made the hike up this particular mountain and had considered turning back several times.  “I needed to get my third wind to be able to make it” he explained.  And with the snow-covered trail and the steepness that I recall it is certainly understandable. 

 But he went on to say that even through complete exhaustion and tight muscles the feeling of accomplishment made it worthwhile.  That is exactly why my determination is now felt full tilt.  I, too, want to see this signage…

and these vistas.

So each exercise routine, yoga stretch, daily step and practice hike will be for the glory of this~my next accomplishment.  A mountain I shall overcome. (I may have to schedule a massage the day following my triumph!)

Thanks to my son’s girlfriend, Jennifer, for the beautiful photos.

“Champions know there are no shortcuts to the top. They climb the mountain one step at a time.”
— Judi Adler

