Tags

, , , , , ,

Everybody needs beauty as well as bread, places to play in and pray in, where nature may heal and give strength to body and soul.  ~John Muir

Last night, while making supper, I stepped outside between rain showers to enjoy some fresh air.  Much to my surprise, my dear squirrel friend seemed was perched and patiently waiting for his grub.  I’m actually quite pleased he is showing some restraint these days and not persistently running between the kitchen window and the sliding door to get my attention.  I’m also relieved he was not so famished that he began rummaging for last winter’s leftovers that I may have missed while planting the flowers directly behind him.  I guess an old squirrel can be taught new tricks…and manners.  But I am thinking we need to cut back on his feedings.  He is already quite plump enough to take on next winter.P1030969

Now,  just this morning, I came across a new critter to the garden.  Noticing the sun streaming in and the refreshing breeze blowing, I was beckoned outdoors between bread making and blog rehashing  rewriting to find him soaking in some sun.  Looks like he did a lot of mucking about in the mud as well. 

P1030971

I’m wondering if he’ll take a leisurely stroll to our pond to visit our  lone fish that survived the winter doldrums, swooping birds and the occasional cat that strolls by hoping fish will be on the day’s menu. 

P1030325

With the encounters of the last two days, I believe I will heed my sudden impulses and nature’s call to step outdoors.   Because by stepping briefly outside of the everyday chore, a new experience, or friend, can be had.  Mother Nature’s simple, pure joys never fail.  So….go on..step out…and let me know who/what you encounter.

“How strange that Nature does not knock, and yet does not intrude!” ~Emily Dickinson  (Obviously she has not met our squirrel!)

