Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

The greatest healing therapy is friendship and love.
Hubert H. Humphrey

I often think of the hundreds, no thousands, of people who have come in and out of my life.  So many of them are no longer but a memory, but some still weft and weave in and out.  Some are brought daily into my thoughts.  All of them are entwined within my life without physically being a part of it each day.

Debbie is one of those people.  Her physical voice hasn’t entered my ears in over 2o years.   The playful, “take life by the horns” voice in her blog, however, keeps our threads intertwined;  along with the wonderful friendship that started nearly 25 years ago.   The other day, I got a message from her asking for prayers for a tragedy that occurred in her family.  Of course, I obliged.  A new coiled thread was added.

Dan, Debbie’s brother, is that new strand.  I have never met him, perhaps never will, and only by a mention of his name by Debbie did I know he existed.  But this is one of those moments where someone is no longer an unknown face that passes by without notice.  He has purposely been brought into my life.  It may only be for a short strand of time, but for him it is a pertinent time of need. 

It is because of this need, I want to share his story.  The best way, of course, is through Debbie.  She has shared it on her blog, “Rainbows Within Reach“.   Her post is as poignant as one would expect with tragedy but as with any story told through her voice~ the rainbow is never far behind the storm. 

Please take the time to read Dan’s story~ shared with us through Debbie’s love~ and lace a prayer or two into your day for his recovery.  Dan’s Story.

I know the strands will loop and weave ribbons of hope, faith, peace and healing.

I do believe we’re all connected. I do believe in positive energy. I do believe in the power of prayer. I do believe in putting good out into the world. And I believe in taking care of each other.
Harvey Fierstein

