I’m a wife to one (as it should be, right?), mom to four boys and a Nannie to two (again, boys).  I love walking, kettle bells and yoga.  That sums me up.

Though I love that life has given my those first three things, the last three things are a prevailing trinity that ripple into the others.  It struck me the other day just how telling they are about me.  Others may enjoy those very exact things, and it leads me to wonder how much alike we might be.  They reveal something about me, as a whole and as separate entities.

Walking, and sometimes running when my body provides the means to do so, is representational of my wanderlust.  I need the rejuvenation that new experiences affords me.  Life and this world are filled with much to see and learn.  Each day has me sitting on the edge of my seat, literally and figuratively, anticipating the next interesting moment that will occur.  Sometimes I can sit and wait for that moment, other times I feel compelled to seek it out.

Kettle bells are indicative of my love of strengthening my body and mind.  I’m surely not the lean, body builder type, but digging deep to dispel any present weaknesses motivates me.  I had vowed I would be at my physical best at 30.  And when it didn’t come to fruition, I said it again at 40.  And then 50.  Now, at 51, the plan is to be a healthy, strong woman of body and mind in her 50’s and beyond.  Though I don’t appear as youthful as I did at 30, I feel a strength I didn’t have back then.

Yoga reveals the part of me that needs to look inward.  To align the parts of me that I’ve let become unwieldy.  Quietude and solitary moments, almost of equal measure to worldly exploration, are necessary to fulfill and sustain me.  I am rarely uneasy when I have long stints of time alone.  Both physical and mental isolation from the outside world exhilarate and refurbish my hopes and dreams, and the determination to excel and succeed in them.   Yoga also encourages movement of stagnate areas and the stretching further with each breath.  So, too, is my desire for each day.  It also includes marking and acknowledging our thoughts and then letting them go.  Writing is often my yoga.

As a whole, they represent change.  Change from where I perceive to find weakness. Change from always focusing on the things directly in front of me.  And a change to things that may have entered my thoughts, but had never given credence to.  Yet, those thoughts and ideas, once moved and stretched  bring new form and power.

As I look back at what provided evidence of my being at any given juncture in m life, I realize that my desires for change and what I was striving for could easily be revealed within them.  For a time, taking college courses would have been on my trifecta list.  It came within a time that I felt powerless within physical capacity, so I held to strengthening myself mentally.  Perhaps this is how life needs to be approached; focused on the trifecta that provides us with the means to obtain what we need in the moment we are in.

I believe, too, that we need to move in and out of those three things as freely and without judgement as we physically and mentally can.  I, for one, cannot move without risking a physical setback, into a full kettle bell routine today.  But, I can turn to those other things that provide growth, contentment, and meaning to my life.

