Tags

, , , , , , ,

If someone would have asked me what some of favorites were in 1978, I’d have given a very honest answer of “I have no clue.”  But now, I know.  I can answer it based on that dug up evidence I wrote of yesterday.  Yes, today I’m going to bore the cyber world further with the dribble thoughts of my youth.

Today’s answer of what my current favorite show would be along the lines of “Sherlock Holmes” and “Game of Thrones”.  Back then?  Well, before you judge, remember the caliber of shows I had access to.  It appears I loved to watch “The Love Boat”, “One Day at a Time”, “Three’s Company” and “Mork and Mindy”.  All really obvious choices for a geeky 15 year old when, love, parental relationships, peers and boys, and out of this world ideals are bouncing around in her pubescent maturing mind.

Onto music.  Pray tell, what music had my soul swelling, filled my body with unrestrained rhythm, and had me belting out lyrics that likely dribbled into incoherent sounds?  (That happens when you really don’t know the words to the song.)  Well, it would be along the lines of “There is Love” (Wedding Song”), “Sometimes When We Touch”, “It’s a Heartache” and “You’re The One That I Want”.  Ugh, I might as well be wearing my hair in curly ringlets and donning a pink tutu, the delicate girly~girl personified  in this is unbearable.  Okay, I wasn’t all just about love and swooning.  Also on the list were “Carry On My Wayward Son” (Kansas)   “Dreams” (Fleetwood Mac), “New Kid in Town” (Eagles), and “Boogie Nights” (Heat Wave).   My music choices expanded to my favorite bands which included Foreigner, Abba, KC and the Sunshine Band, Fleetwood Mac, The Bee Gees and Meatloaf.

My favorite colors then: Blue, green, orange, silver, gold and aquamarine.  Now?  Blues, greens, silvers, purple, and all whites and creamy whites.  I only love soft yellow or the yellow of a sunflower.  I find most oranges too harsh, unless it is a clay pot covered in moss and filled with draping flowers and greenery. Or orange fall leaves intermingling with all other fall~ish hues.   Aquamarine is my birthstone, so I guess I’ll shall continue to love it.

My favorite stars of the late 70’s were Kristy Mc Nickel (loved her bubbly personality) , David Sole (My crush.  I wore out his 45 single “Don’t Give Up On Us Baby” on my stereo), Paul Michael Glaser (It’s the dark hair with the blue/green eyes) , Kate Jackson (I wanted to be just like her; a good looking, intelligent {Charlie’s} angel),  Andy Gibb (it was all about the hair), Peter Frampton, Scott Baio, Leif Garet (Again, the hair), Melissa Gilbert, Parker Stevenson (hair), Melissa Anderson and Michael Landon (I adored his laugh! And couldn’t help but smile whenever he did.)

Though I love flowers of all kinds, back then my choices were the rose and carnation.  Can’t beat the smell of roses, but I truly adore orchids now.  Hydrangeas are also high on my list.

My favorite books were “Little Women”, Wilderness Family”, “Tom Sawyer”, and “Laura and Amy”.  Today?  Any book I currently have in hand, that grabs my attention in the first chapter, keeps my mind blocked from any of the craziness in the world around me, and has me wanting more.  With that said, I’m pretty easily entertained.  Though I detest the smutty romance novels.

Now, I’m only going to continue listing my list of lists, because I know once I’ve exhausted anything from them, they will IMG_20151103_151715998~2be disposed of.  The ownership proof is in the handwriting and the name written upon them; the cyber world is a less evil can of worms where things can be buried in the plethora of better written thoughts and works of others.  (So, psssst, don’t tell anyone that knows me that I’m here.)

Skunks, cats, dogs, birds, horses, rabbits, squirrels, raccoons, cougars and bears were my short, long list of favorite animals.  Now I just like any animal that doesn’t bite me or seem interested in eating me when we meet eye to eye.  I find them to be drama free and often times more entertaining than humans.  They expect less of me too.

Sports I liked to watch:  Football, baseball, basketball, volleyball, tennis and track.  Who was this person???  It certainly wasn’t me!  I think most of those sports were on the list because I liked to watch particular boys play them.  My top sport to watch currently is my nearly three year old grandson watch a game of hockey live.

Now my list of sports I liked to play was more honest and included volleyball, tennis, badminton, pool and bowling.  I’d say these are all quite true today, though I really only play badminton on a regular basis.  With the aforementioned grandson and on the back deck.  Without a net.  And it more often becomes a game of hockey using a racket and a birdie.

Now, for the last thing I shall share.  My  favorite quote (which I believe was also our graduating class’s favorite saying.  “I am not afraid of tomorrow, for I have seen yesterday, and I love today.”

Gotta say, after reading through my “likes of ’78”, today and each day forward has promise.  I think there is a little more substance to my likes now.  And even a bit more understanding of what they say about me. At least I won’t be so shallow now as to just like a guy for his hair.

